top of page
  • yalaniz2

Unveiling My Purpose - The 'WHY' Behind My Journey


Through my journey in creating my innovation plan, I have learned that in order to achieve my goals I have to provide a structured approach to generating, evaluating, and implementing the innovative concepts. However, I realize that besides fostering growth and measuring success, I have to remember my 'WHY'. This will help keep me grounded through any challenges I encounter.


The purpose. I believe in creating lifelong independent learners through a balance of personalized guidance as well as structured teacher support and technology innovations.


The process. Implementing blended learning involves strategically integrating traditional classroom instruction with online resources and technology-enabled activities to create a cohesive and effective learning experience for students.


The result. Develop individuals who are equipped with the skills and motivation to continuously acquire knowledge, adapt to new challenges, and proactively pursue personal and professional growth throughout their lives.


The change.

In watching Kotter's videos "Heart of Change" and "Leading Change: Establish a Sense of Urgency" I found that the emphasis on establishing a sense of urgency as a critical starting point for successful management of change was valuable. Kotter's approach highlights the importance of creating a compelling case for change and ensuring that all stakeholders understand the urgency of the situation.


The "Heart of Change" video emphasized the power of storytelling and emotional connection in driving change. Appealing to people's emotions and motivations rather than just presenting facts and figures is quite insightful. When people can relate to the reasons behind the change on a personal level, they are more likely to embrace and support the transformation.


I hope that my 'Why' statement will help stakeholders understand the urgency, as well as foster a sense of ownership and commitment to the change initiatives presented in my innovation plan. This collaboration will contribute to a successful transformation journey.


References:

Kotter, J. (2013, August 15). Leading Change: Establish a Sense of Urgency. [YouTube video]. Retrieved August 19, 2023, from https://youtu.be/2Yfrj2Y9IlI


Kotter, J. (2011, March 23). Dr. John Kotter - The Heart of Change. [YouTube video]. Retrieved August 19, 2023, from https://youtu.be/1NKti9MyAAw


15 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

© 2021 Teaching & Learning Portfolio. All rights reserved. Powered by Wix.

bottom of page