top of page
  • yalaniz2

Innovation Plan Update

The goal of my innovation plan is to incorporate blended learning in elementary mathematics classrooms and help create self-directed learners in using the station rotation model. Ideally, this would begin in 2nd – 4th upper elementary grades first then move down to Kinder-1st lower-grade levels on a smaller scale. 

 

I began working on my innovation plan last summer and when the school year began, I decided to get a jump start by recruiting three teachers on my campus – one for each grade (2nd-4th). I took some of the components and worked with these select teachers to incorporate pieces in their classrooms with students. My goal of creating self-directed learners in mathematics through blended learning is one that will require teachers to become invested in the outcome. This is the reason why I decided to begin on a smaller scale with this group of teachers that are tech-savvy and love to incorporate new ideas in their classroom. I feel that in doing so, this will help me the following year when I begin to incorporate across all upper grade level classrooms (2nd - 4th) and beyond. 


Professional learning has been minimal, as these teachers are very knowledgeable when it comes to our district provided resources and are great innovators. We were able to take resources we already use and brainstorm ways to incorporate them into stations or re-create them as digital activities. My next step is to add these teachers to the Canvas course I am creating to receive feedback on how I can adjust or deliver the learning for all teachers next school year. 


As the mathematics instructional coach, I have enjoyed observing students in action in these classrooms as their teachers have incorporated blended learning strategies and tools we have selected. By being in the classrooms, I can get a first-hand look at student progress and understand where I should refine supports needed for student learning needed for student learning. I have learned that listening and observing (teachers and students) gives me much insight on the best way to communicate with other teachers on best practices for implementation. 


With my experience in delivering professional development to teachers on my own campus, I know that it is wise to engage them as best possible and help them view the innovation plan through the eyes of a student because that is how I can communicate the vision. I feel like that is going to be where I place forth extra effort to minimize the push-back I may receive. 


Overall, I think that having 3 teachers currently on board will help me with promoting my plans school-wide and communicate the best I can by including teacher thoughts and insights as they have worked to implement new tools and resources for their students in their blended learning mathematics classroom. In a future innovation plan, I would "test the waters" the same way but give more guidance and additional ideas for implementation prior to school-wide initiatives. I would also be a step ahead with having professional learning prepared prior to initiating.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Σχόλια


bottom of page